Spiciest Papaya Salad- SOMTAM Siam Center

somtam-nua-bangkok

image

How can we miss Bangkok’s most popular and famous papaya salad known as SOM TAM at the legendary SOMTAM restaurant. They have two outlets and we ate at the chic and modern location at Siam Center on the 4th floor. There was no vegetarian menu and I ordered using the phrases I learnt to indicate that I am vegetarian and want no fish sauce and shrimps in my SOMTAM. It came in a short while and BOY was it SUPER DUPER SPICY. If I was a dragon, I could literally breathe fire out of my mouth. I had to gulp down all the ice we got and ordered 2 bottles of water to finally get over the spiciness.

image_7

image_6

Besides papaya salad, I also ordered a stir fried shiitake mushroom which was the best mushroom I have ever tasted. Just that the spicy effect only kicks in after I finished the entire plate. I say this place is not for the weak hearted and if I ever return, I will order everything with zero spice level with their signature glutinous rice which I did not have. Food ranged from 120-180 baht for most dishes and they come in pretty small portions and most customers were seen sharing many dishes.

392/14 Soi Siam Square 5, Rama 1 Road. Tel +66 (0) 22 51 4880. Open daily, 10:45 a.m.-9.30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

