Occasionally, we have a few drinks at parties or at weddings but never did it crossed our minds that alcohol could be vegan unfriendly. And just a few days back, we changed upon this cool site Barnivore that gives you the lowdown if your favourite beer or wine is vegan friendly! We checked through the list and yes! our favourite beers Corona, Leffe are and sad to know Martini & Rossi Asti is not and we suspected Baileys irish cream is not as well.

It might seem weird at first, but your favourite drink might have more than just alcohol in it.

Brewmasters, winemakers, and distillers may include animal ingredients in their products directly, or they might use them in the processing and filtration.

When making the product, dairy, honey, and other things (including, in one case, a whole chicken dropped in the tank) are ingredients in the final recipe.* people always ask them about the whole chicken reference. It’s based on “cock ale,” a 17th century recipe that breweries occasionally recreate in small batches – until someone reminds them that meat beer is pretty gross

When filtering the drinks prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use.

These ingredients don’t usually show up on the label, so the only way to find out is to ask. This great initiative is by Jason and Angela from Toronto, Canada. Well done guys!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: