Was Jesus a Vegetarian?

noahs ark watermarked

This morning I woke up to news of the new Pope Francis from Argentina and how timely that I wrote this post last night.

I chanced upon Jesusveg via the Singapore Vegetarian Society a couple of weeks back and this question has been popping in my mind. Especially when I meet friends who first learnt I am vegetarian and kiddingly joked and said “Thank God the bible says we can eat meat and fishes..” and that got me thinking even harder. Even though I am baptized as a christian, my views and decision to be a vegan has nothing to do with religion just like my grandma who loves animals and believes in the Buddha. Not forgetting our friends we meet along the way who were brought up by Hindu teachings.

So if Hinduism and Buddhism believes that killing and consuming sentient animals to be barbaric. What about Muslims and Christians who considers themselves to contain the true teachings of Christ?

From the old testament in Genesis 1:29 “God also said, ‘Look, to you I give all the seed-bearing plants everywhere on the surface of the earth, and all the trees with seed-bearing fruit; this will be your food.” to the new testament in Matthew 12:11-12 “He said to them, “If any of you has a sheep and it falls into a pit on the Sabbath, will you not take hold of it and lift it out? How much more valuable is a person than a sheep! Therefore it is lawful to do good on the Sabbath.”

To another scripture, The Essene Gospel of Peace,  discovered in 1923 in the secret archives of the Vatican. The following are some sections of the words that Jesus shared with the Essenes taken from this scripture:

‘Thou shalt not kill,’ for life is given to all by God, and that which God has given, let not man take away. For-I tell you truly, from one Mother proceeds all that lives upon the earth. Therefore, he who kills, kills his brother. And from him will the Earthly Mother turn away, and will pluck from him her quickening breasts. And he will be shunned by her angels, and Satan will have his dwelling in his body. And the flesh of slain beasts in his body will become his own tomb. For I tell you truly, he who kills, kills himself, and whoso eats the flesh of slain beasts, eats of the body of death. For in his blood every drop of their blood turns to poison; in his breath their breath to stink; in his flesh their flesh to boils; in his bones their bones to chalk; in his bowels their bowels to decay; in his eyes their eyes to scales; in his ears their ears to waxy issue. And their death will become his death. (Book 1)

This topic can be quite touchy and on the net there are so many forums and sites talking about it. There is one about the five loaves and two fishes story which I googled and while some say yes and some say no.  It does not really matter actually and from my view point everything that is born into this earth should have the love and respect it deserves.

After reading this article I saw a comment by Queenhuh:

“The question should be, why in 2009 are we still enslaving, torturing and murdering innocent life? Being pro-life should mean just that. ALL life. Instead of referring to a religious figure/s who never existed and asking what they would have done, ask instead what is right. It’s as easy as that.”

I’ll end off with my all time favourite bible phrase Romans 12:2 “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

2 thoughts on “Was Jesus a Vegetarian?

  1. I think you have written this post very well. Being Hindu myself, I find it difficult to comment or discuss the christian take on vegetarianism. If it is okay with you, I would love to share this post on my blog as well 🙂

    • Hi Sonal,

      Thank you for dropping by our blog and for the cheers! I was inspired to write this after hearing so many comments from christian friends who always seems to feel more ‘relieved’ or ‘less sinful’ just because the bible states they can consume meat. At the end of the day regardless of religion or not, we still have to be mindful of what we put into our body and where it came from because it came from a source greater than us.

      Feel free to share on your blog! Let me know what is it? We would love to check it out.

      Cheers,
      Roland & Priscilla

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

