Home Cooking- Potato Rosti with Mushroom Rag Out

rosti-with-mushrooms1342324761

Was craving some good old potato snack and decided to whip up potato rosti with mushroom ragout for dinner! There are tonnes of recipes online so I went through most of them and decided to make my own version of it. Most sites recommended using russets or yukon gold potatoes.

image_2

1 packet of potatoes (around 10-12 small pieces)

Sprinkle of Salt

Pepper  (I was quite generous with this)

3 tablespoons of Olive oil

image_3

The night before, I parboiled all my potatoes first and drenched it in cold water once it was done. Next I peeled the skins away and left it in the fridge for a day. The next evening, I grated them thinly and mixed them with salt and pepper. Once done, I poured the olive oil in the pan and cooked it for 5-7 mins each side. My pan was too small so I had to separate it into 3 batches like mini potato pancakes. Before serving, I toasted them again in the oven at 150 celsius to get it crispier. But my oven was not working too well so it wasn’t as crispy as I hoped it will turn out.

To accompany the rosti as a side, I made mushroom rag out with the following ingredients.

imageimage_1

2 packets of mushrooms sliced (Shiitake, portobello, brown and white buttons mushrooms)

1 tablespoon of thyme

1 tablespoon of oregano

Pinch of salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoon of olive oil

1 red onion, chopped

image_4

Start by adding onions into the pan for a few minutes before adding in mushrooms, oregano, thyme, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper and let it simmer for another 5-7 minutes.Some websites recommended using 1/4 -1/2 cup of white or red wine too. Once done, serve together with crispy rosti. I also had a quinoa red rice salad with pumpkin and capsicum from Cedele which went so well with the mushroom ragout too.

image_5image_6image_7

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

