Home Cooking- Coconut Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin-soup

Alongside our avocado pesto pasta, I also made my favourite pumpkin soup using the recipe found here.

image

1/2 butternut pumpkin/squash
4  yukon gold potato, chopped
4  small carrots
3 1/4 cup water
1 onion
1 C coconut milk, more if you want thinner/less if you want thicker (I used coconut cream instead)
1.5 T maple syrup (I did not include this)
1 T olive oil
1 t salt
ground coriander, to taste (I just sprinkled about 1/2 tablespoon for each)
extra cinnamon, to taste
ground cumin, to taste
image_1image_2
I roasted the pumpkin and carrots in the oven for 15 minutes before chopping. Next I chopped and sauteed the onions in the oil for about 5 minutes. And I continue to chop pumpkin, carrots and potatoes into cubes and boil, with salt in 3 cups of water until soft. Finally combine everything and blend until smooth and creamy. Return to pot and add tablespoon of soy milk and 3 tablespoon of coconut cream, heat until hot. My pumpkin soup ended up tasting sweet and I did not add any sugar or maple syrup in them.
image_5imageimage_2
For our side salad, I made tauhu goreng (chinese version) the way my grandma taught me a couple of months back. Instead of the plum sauce concoction she taught me, I made mine with 3 tablespoons of store bought plum sauce and 1 tablespoon of garlic chilli sauce.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

