Home Cooking- Quinoa Sushi Roll

Mango+Quinoa+Sushi_Queen+of+Quinoa

I was craving some japanese food but did not want to be too full after yesterday’s curry dinner. I went to a folder where I kept a list of vegan recipes to try and saw quinoa sushi! I did not have any ingredients found in most recipes so I improvised and used what was in my kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • a bit of sesame oil (So fragrant)
  • 1 cup water (I usually gauge by pouring bits of them and once they filled up to the edge of my quinoa I stop)
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar (I used mirin)
  • 1 tbsp agave syrup
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 packet of skinny green beans
  • 1/2 carrot sliced into match stick sizes
  • 1 packet of Nori Sheets (I used about 4 sheets)
  • Wasabi paste & soy sauce (Optional which I did not use)

Extra equipment which I did not have: Sushi rolling mat (I made them using cling wrap to tighten the roll)

image_1

Method:

Thoroughly rinse quinoa in a sieve under streaming water until water runs clear.

Heat a bit of sesame oil in a medium saucepan on medium heat. Once oil is heated, saute rinsed quinoa for 5-8 minutes, until crisp. Add water and heat until boiling. Let boil for 1 minute, and then turn heat on low. Cover and cook for 20 minutes. DO NOT STIR! (Start preparing vegetables while quinoa cooks.) Once cooked, remove quinoa from heat.

In a small bowl, mix together 2 tbsp vinegar, 1 tbsp agave syrup or maple syrup, and 1/2 tsp of salt. Spread quinoa over a large baking sheet with a wooden spoon. Use a small spoon to sprinkle vinegar mixture over quinoa. Lightly fold quinoa with a wooden spoon to mix. DO NOT STIR!

I steamed the green beans for a few minutes and included cilantro leaves/stalks too.

image

I toasted the nori sheets on a pan before laying them down on the board. Moisten ends slightly with rice vinegar and lay all the vegetables and quinoa about 1/4 of the roll. Somehow, my roll burst after I cut into the middle and the side. So it was not a very successful attempt but I ended up scooping them all up in a bowl with the nori sheets and THEY WERE SO GOOD.

photo-15

Somehow the combination of the sushi rice mixture with quinoa is light and very tasty. It tasted just like sushi rice without the sticky texture. I cannot wait to make soba sushi next!

3 thoughts on “Home Cooking- Quinoa Sushi Roll

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed your quinoa sushi as much as we did! Your veggie selection looks tasty too – I’ll have to try string beans sometime.
    (I was curious however why you decided not to use the sushi mat in your pictures’ background – did you find the cling wrap alone to be easier?)
    Thanks so much for visiting Nom Yum & Free! Enjoy your weekend!! – Devin

    • Hi Devin,

      Thanks for dropping by our blog and the recipe is such a delight!
      The sushi mat you saw is actually a soba mat:) So it’s really tiny.
      As for the cling wrap, it helped me secure the shape and I stored them in the fridge for a light snack later.

      Have a beautiful week ahead too!
      Cheers,
      Roland & Priscilla

  2. Pingback: Home Cooking- Raw Cauliflower Rice Avocado Sushi Roll | Mr & Mrs Vegan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

