Home Cooking- Cucumber Guacamole Dip

image_1

Last weekend, we bought soy flaxseed tortilla chips (we cannot remember the price but it should cost around $6 +). The chips were really yummy and was dotted with flaxseed all over them. Best part they contained 140 calories for 15 chips! It was not too salty and had a good crunch and it was one of the tastiest tortilla chips we have tried. Not forgetting our own churros tortilla chips which was so good too!

We have been munching on them all week in small intervals and there was still a handful of them left. I decided to make a really light lunch making guacamole with cucumber (as I have a spare cucumber in the house) using a combination of a few recipes I found here and here.

image_1

Ingredients: (I altered the recipe to create a one serving dip)
3 medium avocados, peeled and chopped (I used one)
1 medium vine-ripened tomato, seeded and diced (I used japanese cucumber, seeded and diced)
1/4 cup yellow onion, finely diced (I used a tablespoon of finely diced garlic)
1/4 cup pickled jalepeños, the “hot” variety, chopped (I used about 5 slices of jalepenos)
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped (Did not add this)
2 limes, squeezed and juice reserved (I used one lime)
1/2 teaspoon salt (I also added a dash of sugar)

image_2

Combine all the ingredients and blend it for a few minutes. Taste and add more salt, pepper or sugar as desired.

image

One of the healthiest lunch in a while and I added less salt this time round as I was dipping them with the chips which were already salty. I sprinkled some paprika over them and will eliminate the cucumber the next time round as it was not as creamy as I expected. Overall, a really easy and fun dip to try:)

2 thoughts on “Home Cooking- Cucumber Guacamole Dip

  1. Pingback: Cucumbers | jovinacooksitalian

  2. Pingback: Lundberg Wasabi Vegan Rice Crisps | Mr & Mrs Vegan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

