Home Baking- Vegan Pretzels

image

It’s mother’s day today and my mum loves bread so I decided to whip up some love pretzels for her and was crossing my fingers they will turn out fine! Not only did they turned out great, the taste was fantastic:)  I found this awesome egg and dairy free recipe from ecokaren blog!

Ingredients:

1 C of warm water
1 package of dry active yeast (I used instant yeast and it measures to 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of yeast)
1 1/2 C of flour
2 Tbsp of vegetable oil (we used canola oil)
1/2 tsp of salt
1 1/4 C flour
8 C water
4 tbsp baking soda

Directions:

  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water and let it stand for 10 minutes (I skipped this step as I was using instant yeast)
  2. Add vegetable oil, salt, yeast, water and 1 1/2 C of flour to a medium sized mixing bowl and stir thoroughly
  3. Add a 1 1/4 C of flour and knead for 5 minutes.
  4. Let the dough stand for an hour in room temperature.
  5. Divide the dough into 12 equal balls. Let them rest for 15 minutes. Then, roll them into 18″ pieces in finger widths and shape them into the classic pretzel shapes. Or cut them into sticks. (The rolling part is the hardest and most time consuming for me, the trick is to roll them by the edges and evenly roll them into a skinny finger length)
  6. Preheat oven to 475〫F (240 degrees)
  7. Boil 8 C of water and 4 tbsp of baking soda in a large pot.
  8. Let the pretzel pieces rise for 1/2 hour.
  9. Put the pretzels in boiling water for  about 1 minute. Take the pieces out with a slotted spoon onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet (or greased cookie sheet.) Sprinkle with kosher salt if you want salt. Bake in the oven for about 12 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Serve hot with your favorite toppings. (I baked them for an extra 2 minutes more to get a crispier, golden brown texture!)

image_4image_5

I followed this adorable illustrated step by step technique to roll my pretzels and it was super easy and fun! Since I am no pro to pretzels making, they were not consistent so I had some really thick pretzels and some really skinny ones. The second half of the pretzels making was more even and it took me about 30 minutes to form 6 pretzels.

image_1

I hesitated for a long time before making pretzels as most recipes I researched required more than 1 cup of baking soda which was such a waste! Thankfully I found this recipe and it only uses 4 tbsp of them. It was very exciting to watch the baking soda fizzling in the boiling water and after dipping the pretzels in them, it actually firms up slightly.

image_6

image_3image_7

The pretzels looks amazing and taste so good! I’m so happy to have tried this and Hubby Ro thought it tasted better than Aunt Annie as they are usually too soft or doughy. I sprinkled them with sea salt, sesame seeds and kept two of them plain for breakfast tomorrow with some peanut butter! Yum:) The salt sprinkled pretzels tasted the best! Can’t wait to make them again for a girlfriend’s house warming party soon!

One thought on “Home Baking- Vegan Pretzels

  1. Pingback: Baked Pretzels | 2 Sweet Obsession

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

