Home Baking- Lemon Chia Seeds Crazy Cake

image-151

After the successful chocolate crazy cake attempt, my good friend Johanna sent me a link to try the lemon version of this crazy cake. Without any eggs, butter, and milk I wondered if this cake will live up to her dark counterpart? Instead of using poppy seeds, I substituted them with chia seeds and they turned out beautifully and very fluffy! Even my grandma was impressed by the texture and taste. It had a lovely caramelized texture and was a simple honey sponge cake actually with a lemon touch!

image7

Ingredients
1 1/2 Cups flour + 3 Tablespoons (all-purpose)
1 Cup white sugar (I used brown sugar)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp lemon zest
…………………………
1 tsp. white vinegar
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 tsp. pure lemon extract (I used juice from one fresh lemon)
1/4 cup of chia seeds
5 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1 Cup water

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

imageimage8

Mix first 5 dry ingredients in a greased 8″ square baking pan, starting with the flour first.  Mix well.  Make 3 depressions in dry ingredients – two small, one larger (see #3 in photo below). Pour vinegar in one depression, vanilla and lemon extracts in the other, and the vegetable oil in third larger depression. Pour water over all.  Mix well until smooth.Bake on middle rack of oven for 35 minutes.  Check with toothpick to make sure it comes out clean.  Cool.  Top with your favorite frosting ( I used vanilla for this lemon cake).  Enjoy

Tip – You can double this recipe, just use a 9×13 baking pan.
 You can add more lemon zest for a stronger lemon taste, or use
lemon frosting or a lemon glaze.

image9image4

4 thoughts on “Home Baking- Lemon Chia Seeds Crazy Cake

  1. Have you heard of the rainbow rice cake from Korea? I thought you might be interested. The rainbow cake phenomenon worldwide most probably got influenced by it. The rice flour needed to make it needs to be very dry and powdery.
    http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/mujigae-ddeok

    Btw, I have made super spongy durian cupcakes before, about 8 years ago. That was my best creation of a spongy non-chocolate cake. That sponge is unbeatable by any vegan cakes out there. But I forgot the recipe and have yet to take the time to recreate it.

    • Hey Timothy,

      How are you? Happy Vesak Day and Thanks for sharing all the extra information needed to bake better goodies!
      I am definitely going to try making the rainbow cake but it sounds like quite a lot of work.
      I am quite a lazy cook wannabe myself so anything easy and fast is usually my thing:)
      Hope your business is growing stronger than ever and buzz us again if you are trying out any new creations too.

      Cheers,
      Ro & Pris

  2. Hi, thank you I am fine. Thanks for the Vesak Day wishings but just so you would know, I don’t follow Buddhism, I believe more into the Source’s teachings mentioned by Dolores Cannon and Guy Needler. That pendant I wear around my neck(in case you noticed) is something to shield against EMF waves(Q-Link pendant), not something religious.

    For some non-serious but crucial reason I cannot open the stall but I will be free to do so at the end of next week.

    I have not made the rainbow rice cake myself since I am also a lazy cook. But I will attempt to make a rainbow stack of scotch pancakes soon, maybe in time for Luke when he visits. It seems like everyone is making something rainbow and I need to join in to feel like an accomplished ‘colourful’ cook/baker 🙂

    • Hi Timothy,

      Wow rainbow pancakes sounds super gorgeous and fun! Please do that and we totally agree that everyone needs a rainbow cheer:)
      Let us know when Luke is dropping by and we cannot wait to try more wonders from you.

      Cheers,
      Ro & Pris

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

