Juice Fast Challenge- Day 4

image.axd

This quote sums up how I am feeling for Day 4. I am beyond hungry and I want to eat a mountain. But I have decided to give it my all and stick it through today. Last night, I stared so hard at the new beetroot chips I bought and was on the brink of tearing the chips packet open. Somehow the voice inside me screamed NO you can do it!

I started the day with another sunshine juice.

image

1 mango

1 cucumber

1 bunch of celery

1 apple

For lunch I headed over to Tracy’s Juice Culture at Vivocity as I was too lazy to whip up my own. I bought 2 drinks and had a super satisfying meal. The sunflower carrot juice was not vegan as honey was used in it and it came hot. It tasted just like any chinese sesame paste but in a slightly diluted drink form. I have also included the ingredients used in the drinks as the staff refused to let me take pictures of the box of ingredients she was going to  juiced up.

image_1image_2

Apple Wheat Juice

Ingredients: Organic Wheat Grass, Green Lemon, Green Apple, Pineapple and Kumquat

Benefits:

  • Improves digestive system
  • Prevents diabetes and heart diseases
  • Promotes detoxification

Sunflower Carrot Juice (HOT)

Ingredients: Sunflower seeds, Lemon, Organic Honey, Carrots

Benefits:

  • Prevents cardiovascular diseases
  • Enhances cognitive functions
  • Prevents cancer

For tea, I had coconut water and for dinner I made another power green juice using the following ingredients.

image_2

1 bunch of organic broccoli

1 bunch of organic spinach leaves

5 stalks of Kale branches

1 organic lemon

2 organic apples (One is sufficient, I added another and it became too acidic!)

The day whizzed by really quickly and I really wanted more juices but I am so lazy to make them myself. I even drank some of Hubby Ro’s dinner (He had tomato soup and yong tau foo). Having a juicer really helps as I am sick of sieving all the juices I have blended. I have also spent a lot of money on this juice diet buying all the organic produces. In total, I spent $102 which amounts to $8.50 for a drink out of the 4 days I have done the juice challenge. OMG! After I told Hubby Ro the cost he thinks I am even crazier and really silly. I definitely think there is a better and more cost-effective way to practice this diet.

Weight loss was not my priority so I did not weigh myself earlier on and Hubby Ro thought I looked, sounded and acted just like usual. Maybe he was just being bias? If I have to sum up the juice challenge, I only have cons to share. There were hardly any pros for me actually.

  • Costly
  • Time Consuming (Sieving the vegetables after blending and let’s not forget washing, cutting and washing up!)
  • Used up lots of vegetables (A portion I make can be eaten by 3 people if we did a simple stir fry)
  • Social Interaction (I was doing and eating my meals alone while my husband and mum in law indulged in their meals)

By 8pm after I finished drinking my juice, I got the best news I have been hoping for a long time. It will be a new chapter for me and I decided I will end this juice fast tonight. Will I do this challenge again? NO because I hardly felt any effects and it was expensive to upkeep. But I will definitely have juice as part of my diet on a daily basis, either to substitute a meal or simple have them after a meal. I am crossing my fingers that we will get a juicer soon so that I can do some real juicing as my hand muscles were pretty firmed up after squeezing and kneading the vegetables pulps for the past few days. I am so happy and relieved I am out of this diet I made homemade kale chips right after the news!:P

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

