Home Baking- 5 Minutes Kale Chips

image_8

After a few days of juicing, the first thing I wanted to do was chew and crunch on something. But I wanted something healthy so I made a handful of crispy kale chips and I LOVED it! Hubby Ro thought it was seriously yummy too. I bought 100g = 5 stalks of Kale for $5.99  (I found them at Giant Supermarket at Vivocity) and for that price I made 2 bunches of kale and it was so good. I found this recipe from one of my favourite vegan blogs: Veggieful.

image_6

Ingredients:

1 bunch of kale
salt & pepper
spray olive oil
seasoning (I made one batch with nutritional yeast and garlic powder, and the second batch plain)

image_5

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius (356 F) and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Pull the kale leaves from the stems and place the leaves onto a baking tray in a single layer. Discard the stems.
  3. Make sure they are dry before tossing.
  4. Lightly spray the leaves with olive oil.
  5. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and any desired seasonings.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes or so until crispy, flipping once. (I baked them for 5 minutes without flipping and they were already browned and crispy as I laid them in the middle tray in my oven. The first batch we baked for 6 minutes and they were too crunchy and bitter around the brown edges so the 5 minutes time frame was perfect as they were slightly chewy too.)
  7. Serve immediately!  We preferred the batch which was plain as the kale texture was really crunchy and pure.

2 thoughts on “Home Baking- 5 Minutes Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Home Baking- Raw Durian Chocolate Cake for Father’s Day | Mr & Mrs Vegan

  2. Pingback: August – Product Round Up | Eat Green Cake

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

