Home Baking- Raw Durian Chocolate Cake for Father’s Day

image-22

We will be out-of-town from tomorrow onwards so we decided to celebrate Father’s day tonight and I made a few dishes for him to try,  guess what was his favourite? KALE CHIPS!! He was so amazed by the chips he told my mum to make them tomorrow for him again. (This time round, I baked them for 10 minutes as I did not cut them into mini sizes and they were super crispy.)

image_3

My parents love durians and I decided to try making this raw durian cake found from this site. I bought my durians and made the cake the night before for it to set.

image_6

Ingredients:
Recipe courtesy of The Sunny Raw Kitchen
image_4

Chocolate Brownie Layer

  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons raw cacao or carob powder
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons soft dates
  • Pinch sea salt (optional)
image_5

Durian Cheesecake Layer

  • 2 cups durian flesh
  • 1 1/2 cups cashews, finely ground
  • 1/2 cup raw honey or agave nectar (I used half the amount stated)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Pinch sea salt
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbs melted coconut oil (I used half of the amount stated)
  • 1 1/2 tbs lecithin powder (I did not use this)
image_7

Chocolate Mousse

  • 2 medium or 3 small ripe avocados (I used two)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 1 tbs carob powder
  • 1/4 cup raw honey or agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used agave and only used half the amount)
  • 1 tsp vanilla paste or 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch sea salt
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbs melted  coconut oil (I used half the amount)
  • 1 tbs  lecithin powder (I did not use this)

1. For the Crust Process walnuts, cacao/carob powder and sea salt in food processor until fine. Add dates and process until crumbly. Press in the bottom of a cheesecake pan.2. For Durian Mousse Blend all ingredients except lecithin and coconut oil in high-speed blender until smooth. Add these and blend some more until well mixed.Pour mixture on top of the crust and set in the fridge or freezer.

3. For Chocolate Mousse Blend all ingredients except lecithin and coconut oil in high-speed blender until smooth. Add these and blend some more until well mixed. Pour mousse on cheesecake layer and return to the fridge or freezer until firm.

image_2image_1

This evening, I took it out from my freezer to let it thaw in the fridge (about an hour) while I prepared dinner. When I opened up my baking case, I was so happy because it looked great and I drew a DIY cake topper for my dad. I added some toy dinosaurs from my collection and my dad was super in love with his cake! I think he found the dinosaurs more fun than the cake itself and we were stuffed after eating this cake. It tasted like an ice cream cake and was really yummy. I cannot wait to make more raw cakes from now on!

image

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

